Flash Fiction: a complete story
in one thousand or fewer words.

Thursday, May 21, 2009

Theodore Sturgeon Award for SF Short Fiction

By way of SFAwardsWatch.com. The Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award is for short science fiction. It was established by the Center for the Study of Science Fiction at KU and the heirs of Theodore Sturgeon.

The finalists for this year's awards have been announced:

  • Paolo Bacigalupi: The Gambler"
  • Ted Chiang: "Exhalation"
  • Charles Coleman Finlay: "The Political Prisoner"
  • Cory Doctorow & Benjamin Rosenbaum: "True Names"
  • James Alan Gardner: "The Ray Gun: A Love Story"
  • Kathleen Ann Goonan: "Memory Dog"
  • Kij Johnson: "26 Monkeys, Also the Abyss"
  • NOTE: Johnson, a juror, removed story from consideration.
  • Ian McDonald: "The Tear"
  • Maureen McHugh: "Special Economics"
  • Hannu Rajaniemi: "His Master's Voice"
  • Michael Swanwick: "From Babel's Fall'n Glory We Fled"

I note that of the above, two are also in the Hugo finalist list.

Ted Chiang: "Exhalation"
Kij Johnson: "26 Monkeys, Also the Abyss"


Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home

Copyright (c) 2007 Flash Fiction Online
and the authors of the individual stories and articles.
All Rights Reserved.
Email the Webmaster with questions or comments about this site.
For other contact information visit our contact page.