Flash Fiction: a complete story
in one thousand or fewer words.

Monday, June 15, 2009

The Millions' The Prizewinners 2008/2009

The Millions website has finalized their prize winners for this year. This award is made by assigning a weight for winning or appearing as a finalist in various American, British and international English-language literary prizes since 1995 and determining therefrom the most celebrated books (as opposed to authors).

More details of the methodology and the list of the top 65 or so books are shown at the link above. The top five are:

  • The Known World by Edward P. Jones
  • The Corrections by Jonathan Franzen
  • Underworld by Don DeLillio
  • The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Díaz
  • The March by E.L. Doctorow
  • Line of Beauty by Alan Hollinghurst

You're more likely to find Philip Roth than Stephen King on this list as all the qualifying prizes are literary prizes.

Labels: ,


Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home

Copyright (c) 2007 Flash Fiction Online
and the authors of the individual stories and articles.
All Rights Reserved.
Email the Webmaster with questions or comments about this site.
For other contact information visit our contact page.